Pea Soup and the Mandelbrot Set

I always find it’s a good idea to opt for the bigger picture. It defeats boredom and it’s good for dopamine hits. The bigger picture is very, very exciting though I’m sure I’ll never be able to convince you of that in this short(ish) blog.
Today I made pea soup. Not from a recipe you understand. I wouldn’t have the patience to follow a recipe. I’m just not very good at being told what to do. I’m a creative cook: after all these years I know how long to soak a pea.
After a long soak I put the peas,  with onion, celery and lots of carrots in a casserole and filled it with water. After adding a hock that the butcher was practically giving away, I let it simmer away for a couple of hours.  It was then cooked and complete and delicious.
If I didn’t serve this delicious soup to friends but rather left it on the top of the stove for a week or more, it would sit there contained and growing but not in an edible way. It would within the boundaries of the casserole develop a fungus-y life of its own.
At this point it would be like the Mandelbrot set-boundaried yet infinite. Though as I’ve never actually tested the infinite properties of pea soup (yucky and smelly), my hypothesis breaks down at this point and you can see why I’m not a scientist.
However I can seamlessly segue into a song of praise for the exquisite model of infinity contained in the Mandelbrot set, whose beauty is readily available to those of us lucky enough to be alive at this time. Google it and see how the 2D shape of a buddha on its side translates into a never-ending stream of paisley and islamic motifs.The beauty and the ever changing patterns that arise like archetypes from the well of chaos always fill me with joy. This, to my mind, justifies the name ‘the thumbprint of God’ , far more the the Higgs boson justifies being called ‘the God particle’. It was  Melinda Green who first captured the Buddhabrot, as it is called, within the set in 1993, though the technique she used to do so is way beyond me. Thank goodness one doesn’t have to be a mathematician to enjoy the visual smorgasbord of delights that arise out of the boring equations. They convince me that I am seeing how life rises from the Source and that feels sacred.

 

Leave a Reply

