Big Knickers and Flat Slippers

As Cybill Shepherd once remarked, my sexuality doesn’t depend on my feet hurting. I have stopped buying sexy shoes partly because they hurt and partly because I still have half a dozen pairs waiting for the right moment in the bottom of my wardrobe. Like Posh I have  painful bunions, which puts me off walking further than the sofa to the bed in them. But they are beautiful and I get them out and try them on every so often, just to keep the juices going.

Big knickers are something I have always worn, when I am wearing them at all that is. I have of course tried the frilly,the bikini, the thong and the French but have always decided the feel of something up my backside, while I’ve got other things to do, irritating rather than erotic.  (pic.jafabrit)

It  could be a challenge maintaining one’s style in the face of falling body parts and the rising need to be steady on one’s pins with tum tucked in. I’m glad I adoped my Allie style years ago, so Ican run on automatic pilot these days.

I find that black and white works for me but now that my hair is blending in I generally slap on something red; a flower or a necklace or a pair of vintage earrings. A white shirt increasingly has the effect of lightening my face and mood, especially when worn with lots of cheap mis- matched pearls at my turkey neck. Pearls are nature’s gift to women of my age, for they pick up the sparkle in the eye, often the only place that sparkles, apart from conversation of course. I wear my shirt and pearls with shortish Joseph grey wool trousers that show off my ballet pumps, an accesssory I would never have thought of wearing in my youth. Then I was busy incubating bunions  in fuck-me shoes.

If I’m not wearing black and white, I start with a base of black, usually a cashmere top and a pair of trousers and add colour with a jacket. This is what I did when young and as it worked then, I’ve seen no need to change the idea, although the shape changes. I never try to dress like a young person (no denim playsuits for me) and I wouldn’t say I dress fashionably these days, though I still buy Vogue every so often to keep my eye in. I can’t see these lifelong habits changing now.

At this stage of my life I am keeping it simple but I do intend to grow old with clashing colours. I know that my back will hump but I will ofset it with shawls and scarves. And hats. Also I will distract the eye with jangling necklaces and fans. I’m already practising.

I avoid shopping malls and can’t remember when I last went into M&S; they lost me years ago. But I love clothes and the accoutrements that go with being a woman and I’ve become more relaxed with the years. I don’t ever get those nothing to wear days or nights. I dress only for myself and the pleasure I get from putting together an oufit that suits me and doesn’t scream ‘look at me’. I don’t yet see that growing older is anything to worry about. Actually, with my increasing love of being, I think  it’s something to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

